Thread: Amplitude jumping

Default Amplitude jumping

My amplitude is jumping not sure why,this is what inSSIDer shows its seems the signal is overlapped and the amplitude jumps -40 to -50,sorry if my questions are a bit vague i am just a beginner.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	inssider image.png 
Views:	260 
Size:	81.0 KB 
ID:	652 graph

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	insidder 2.png 
Views:	288 
Size:	87.6 KB 
ID:	658
    Last edited by purebokety; 03-10-2012 at 12:16 PM.

Hi purebokety,

from a quick look at your snapshots it appears to me that you have
    a couple of ap's sharing the same channel - notice the different
    colours|colors on the graph - a different color for each ap (access point)

i'm not sure if this answers your question

if not please elaborate the question a bit

cheers

Thanks for your help,i have a desktop where the modem is connected a laptop connected wirelessly and a ps3 and x box all connected(is each of these an access point),the reason i was posting is the laptop which is old now is extremely slow with its wireless connection,its a dell xps gen 2 running windows 7,i think the wireless card may be beyond outdated and causing the slow connection, the wireless card in question is an intel (r) pro/ wireless 2200bg network connection which perhaps may have last been seen attached to a dinosaur

Quote Originally Posted by purebokety View Post
    Thanks for your help,i have a desktop where the modem is connected a laptop connected wirelessly and a ps3 and x box all connected(is each of these an access point),the reason i was posting is the laptop which is old now is extremely slow with its wireless connection,its a dell xps gen 2 running windows 7,i think the wireless card may be beyond outdated and causing the slow connection, the wireless card in question is an intel (r) pro/ wireless 2200bg network connection which perhaps may have last been seen attached to a dinosaur