Thread: Defective Netgear WNDR4500????

Default Defective Netgear WNDR4500????

Hi guys,
    I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to networking and i just found inSSIDer 2.1. I think I may have a new but DEFECTIVE Netgear WNDR4500 router . My old DLink DL-655 N router always showed a Windows connection speed of 65Mbps at the laptop. As soon as I replaced it with the Netgear, the connection speed increased to 72Mbps, which I think is quite anemic for a connection three ft away from the dual band router and, thus, probably not using the channel bonding (or whatever it's called). From most indications, the Netgear is broadcsting on both bands - 2.4G green lt & 5G blue lt, router software shows (2) SSID - NETGEAR93 & NETGEAR-5G. However, inSSIDer shows only the 2G transmitter SSID (NETGEAR93) although both SSIDs are set to "broadcast". If I enable the 2G guest network, inSSIDer shows that also but if I enable the 5G guest network it doesn't show up in inSSIDer. If I disable the 2G transmitter within the router software and leave the 5G transmitter operative, the laptop will not connect and shows NO connection available. Also, inSSIDer sees no SSID from the NG4500 in this case. The laptop is a Samsung RF710 with a Broadcom N wifi card. I have WMM enabled & speeds set at 450 (using 217 makes no difference) with security set at WPA2-PSK [AES]. I have tried everything I can think of and the connection speed remains at 72Mbps.

Does anyone have any ideas or need further info to determine whether I, indeed, have a defective router? I just purchased it about 10 days ago and can still RMA it

Thanks in advance
    FredF

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	inSSIDer View.jpg 
Views:	246 
Size:	91.4 KB 
ID:	678
    Last edited by ffresh; 04-02-2012 at 02:26 PM. Reason: add attachment