Thread: Spiking Signals from Neighboring AP's (video included)

Default Spiking Signals from Neighboring AP's (video included)

Hello...

I'm using inSSIDer version 2.1.5.1393 and I've been seeing some of my neighbor's router signals spike 15 to 20dB higher than my own. Is this normal? My PC has a D-Link DWA-552 Adapter and my router is a D-Link DIR-655. I'm not too tech savvy so hopefully my video better explains what I'm experiencing.

2. Default

Quote Originally Posted by GRIZZMEISTER View Post
    I've been seeing some of my neighbor's router signals spike 15 to 20dB higher than my own. Is this normal?
    I believe you are not seeing a WiFi AP. This is the kind of display you will see from a SSFH or Spread spectrum Frequency hopping device. The modulation technique is to put narrow BW information (<1.5mHz) on many different frequencies in the wifi band, each one only a few ms long. The TX power is much higher and has only a 10% hit on a heavily populated WiFi band. Usually these devices are for audio transmission.

3. Default SSFH modulation spikes

Quote Originally Posted by GRIZZMEISTER View Post
    I've been seeing some of my neighbor's router signals spike 15 to 20dB higher than my own. Is this normal?
    I believe you are not seeing a WiFi AP. This is the kind of display you will see from a SSFH or Spread spectrum Frequency hopping device. The modulation technique is to put narrow BW information (<1.5mHz) on many different frequencies in the wifi band, each one only a few ms long. The TX power is much higher and has only a 10% hit on a heavily populated WiFi band. Usually these devices are for audio transmission.

Quote Originally Posted by peterskine View Post
    Usually these devices are for audio transmission.
    Wireless speakers?

GRIZZ,