Thread: inSSIDer 2.1 questions

Default inSSIDer 2.1 questions

Hey all! I'm new to the whole internet thing and not sure what some stuff means. I have a couple questions, any help would be much much appreciated! Thank you ahead of time and sorry if these questions seem dumb!

What does the Max rate mean? Mine is at 144. Does that fall under the mode for my router channel bc I have it set to 300mbps?

RSSI? My RSSI jumps between -33 to -48

Lastly, I've been told Channel 1,6, and 11 is best used but they all have quite a few people on them. So i went with 10 where no one has it. Is that ok?

hello jsayers,

All these questions are answered in our inSSIDer user guide. You can check that out HERE

For your last question, no. adjacent channel interference is worse than same-channel interference. Channels 1, 6 and 11 do not overlap with each other so they will not cause adjacent interference on each other. It's best to pick one of the channels 1, 6, or 11 generally due to the fact that some same channel interference is ok, especially if the other networks are quite a distance away.

This is up to you though. Pick 1, 6 or 11 and see your downoad speed. Then pick 10 and see if your speed increases or decreases.

I would also recommend watching THIS VIDEO

Stephen
    Last edited by Stephen; 09-07-2012 at 10:27 AM.